KCC Minutes

Tuesday, December 31, 2013

Kenilworth Championship Reminder

A reminder, the Kenilworth CC Championship begins January 9th.

Click here for details.

Tuesday, December 24, 2013

Happy Holidays

The Kenilworth Chess Club wishes its members and friends the happiest of holidays.

We will be closed on December 26th. Join us on January 2nd, for the Lehigh Valley-Kenilworth and Newark-Hamilton matches. The Club Championship begins January 9th.

Friday, December 20, 2013

Club Championship Begins January 9th

The 23rd Kenilworth Chess Club Championship will begin on Thursday, January 9th, 2014 and run through February 6th, 2014.

Here are the details :

23rd KCC Championship
  • Not-rated
  • 5-round Swiss
  • January 9th-February 6th, 2014.
  • Time Control: G/75+5 second delay.
  • Rounds to start at 8:30 p.m. every Thursday, for the duration of the event.
  • 1 half-point bye per player allowed.
  • Prizes (tentative): Trophies for 1st, 2nd, 3rd, Top U2100, Top U1800, Top U1600, Top U1400, Biggest upset.
  • Tiebreaks: 1. Head to Head, 2. Modified Median, 3. Solkoff, 4. Cumulative.
  • EF: $10 entry fee + $5 anti-forfeit deposit + dues (= $30 for most players).
  • KCC membership is required. KCC dues for 2014 are $7.50 for those age 17 or less, $10 for those age 65+, $15 for everyone else.
  • Please register with TD Geoff McAuliffe during our 1/2 meeting or before 8:25 p.m. on 1/9 @ Kenilworth Community Center, 575 Boulevard, Kenilworth, N.J. 07033
  • Late-joins accepted until round 2 is paired.

Past Champions include LM Scott Massey (who has won the title 12x), Rene Ray (1996), FM Steve Stoyko (2005-2007), LM Mark Kernighan (2008), IM Yaacov Norowitz (2009), NM Arthur Macaspac (2010, 2012), NM Ken Chieu (2011), and NM Praveen Balakrishnan (2013).
20 players took part in last year's event.

Round by round coverage of the tournament will be posted on the KCC Tournaments blog.

Officer Elections

At last night's business meeting, John Moldovan was elected KCC President for 2014. He previously held the office in 2008, 2009 and 2011.

Bob Sherry will serve as Vice-President and Joe Renna will be the club's Secretary.

Dr. Geoff McAuliffe and Michael Goeller return as Treasurer and Webmaster while Greg Tomkovich, Pat Mazzillo and Lou Sturniolo continue as Trustees.

In closing, I'd like to thank out-going officers Don Carrelli and Dr. Ian Mangion for their efforts during 2013.

Thursday, December 19, 2013

Holiday Party And Business Meeting

Tonight, beginning at 8 p.m., the Kenilworth Chess Club is having its annual Holiday Party, Business Meeting, Officer Elections and Awards Ceremony.

The club will be providing pizza. Members may bring other food and refreshments, if they desire. Alcohol is not permitted.

Trophies are to be awarded to NM Praveen Balakrishnan, LM Mark Kernighan, LM Scott Massey, Michael Goeller, Nelson Gutierrez, Joe Renna and Robert Vinson.

Tuesday, December 10, 2013

Scott Massey To Lecture On Thursday

On Thursday night, at the Kenilworth Chess Club, Life Master Scott Massey will lecture on last month's Anand-Carlsen World Championship match.

Admission is $5. The club opens at 8 p.m. and the lecture will begin at 8:15.